Time Management Skills

Okay – heads up, I may offend some people.  Working moms are working moms.  BUT there are WORKING moms and working moms.  Now I totally respect those that work and those that stay home.  However.  There are some moms where I just cannot believe the things that they say.  I know this is because 1) I have a Type A personality and 2) I’ve chosen to fill my waking hours with things to do.

Here’s this week’s “shocking” post from a local moms group.

“How do you balance work, cooking, cleaning, kids, oh yeah working out when you both work and have two kids in different schools ( I do work part-time)? There is definitely not enough time during the day.”

When I started reading it, I started to think about to formulate my response.  How I could offer a supportive and sensitive response to her question about needing help with time management.  THEN.  THEN I read that she works part-time.  PART. TIME.  Then a different set of responses started to come to mind.

I’m not saying I’m super woman or that I’m totally rockin’ but I do have decent time management skills.  If I were to take this mother’s assumed schedule of part-time work…I imagine it would be something like this:

7 a.m. – Wake up and make a healthy and delicious breakfast for my two kids

7:45 a.m. – Pack up the kids and put them into the car to drive them to two different schools (in our small town, you can get from one side to the other in 10 minutes).

8:15 a.m. – Both kids are dropped off at school and head to work

9:00 a.m. – Work

1:45 p.m. – Leave work to pick up the kids

3:30 p.m. – Arrive home with the kids

3:30 p.m. – Random things happening in the house

5:30 p.m. – Start dinner preparations

7:30 p.m. – Clean up

9:00 p.m. – Bed Time and thinking “What a long day!”

Obviously, I’m making a lot of assumptions but you get my point.  She HAS THE TIME to do things but maybe she’s choosing NOT to do those things.  I get it, I’m not always in the mood to do things.  If these other areas are important, you’ll find a way to make it work and you’ll involve your significant other even if you are the Default Parent and your partner is the Backup Parent.  Finding time is making the time because it’s important.  You use every minute of the day you have and you manage it WITH YOUR PARTNER.  Here’s our crazy schedule (because some of you have asked).  This doesn’t include the extra activities that my kids have.  This is just 2 out of the 5 day work week.

Husband Me
5:30 a.m. Works Out Wake Up and shower
6:00 a.m. Pack lunches
6:45 a.m. Wake kids up
7:00 a.m. Showers Head to gym
7:15 a.m. Get kids in the car and do drop offs

(3 different locations)

8:15 a.m.  Arrive at work Arrive at work
4:00 p.m. Leave work to pick up kids
5:00 p.m. Leave work
5:30 p.m. Arrive home, start dinner
6:00 p.m. Eat dinner
6:45 p.m. Help kids with showers Wash dishes
7:30 p.m. Story time Story time

8:30 p.m.

Us Time

As you can see though, we MAKE time for ourselves and each other.  I think it’s important to communicate with one another and be clear with expectations; otherwise, you’ll feel like you NEVER have time.

One note: we save chores for the weekend when the kids can help.  We do it in the early morning around 8 a.m. so that they are awake and ready to get moving.  We post signs around the house so they know what their responsibilities are and on which days.  It works wonders.  Oh and add some music.  That helps too!

Talk to Mamas At Work

