Girl Power – Role Models for Our Girls

Sometimes I think to myself: It would’ve been nice to have a really awesome role model in my life.

Then I look at how I am as a mother and hope that I am can be one of my daughter’s role models.  It’s important to me to have her see that I can balance work and life as well as motherhood.  I know she sees me stressed sometimes and she reacts to me with stress sometimes but ultimately, I think it’s important that I let her know that she can have it all.

While I may be able to provide insight into how important it is to get an education, follow your heart, and all these other things, I wanted her to learn about women who have done really great things that have impacted our world.  Who weren’t afraid to stand up to people who didn’t think they would be able to achieve great things.  So I turned to books.  While I haven’t read any of these books, these are books that I will be purchasing over time.  Reading some of the excerpts gave me the feeling that I could do anything.  If it can make me feel like I can make a positive impact on the community around me, maybe it’ll give my daughter the additional confidence that SHE can do anything. (No, I’m not receiving any kind of benefit from Amazon by posting links.)

  1. Girls Who Rocked the World: This fun and inspiring collection of influential stories provides forty-six illustrated examples of strong, independent female role models, all of whom first impacted the world as teenagers or younger.
  2. Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women: Their creations are some of the most enduring (the windshield wiper) and best loved (the chocolate chip cookie). What inspired these women, and just how did they turn their ideas into realities?
  3. Mistakes That Worked: Popsicles, potato chips, Silly Putty, Velcro, and many other familiar things have fascinating stories behind them. In fact, dozens of products and everyday items had surprisingly haphazard beginnings.Mistakes That Worked offers forty of these unusual tales, along with hilarious cartoons and weird and amazing facts. Readers will be surprised and inspired!
  4. Real Kids, Real Stories, Real Change: Courageous Actions Around the World: With the right role models, any child can be a hero. Thirty true stories profile kids who used their heads, their hearts, their courage, and sometimes their stubbornness to help others and do extraordinary things. As young readers meet these boys and girls from around the world, they may wonder, “What kind of hero lives inside of me?”

Who was your role model?

Talk to Mamas At Work

