Hard Days

“Mom!  He hit me!”

“Stop spitting!”

“I’m hungry!”

*crying*

“Diaper!”

….

I’m laying in bed and all I want is to is to be able to keep sleeping because I decided that last night I would stay up late so that I could get some “me” time in.  “Me” time consists of catching up on work for my business or laying in bed making my mental to do lists.  It’s rarely ever relaxing.

Anyway…now I’m exhausted from the lack of sleep.  And I can feel in my body the stress level rising with the fighting, crying, fussing, and the needs from all three of my kids who are under the age of 5.  Sometimes I wish I could roll over and drown it all out.  Sometimes I lay in bed asking anyone who can hear my thoughts “Why can’t my kids just get along?” or “Do I have to be a mom today?”

That’s right.  Sometimes I wish I didn’t have to be a mom for a couple of hours.  It’s exhausting.  Being a parent is one of the hardest jobs ever.  No matter how many times people say that, no one really understands it until you’ve experienced it yourself. I’ve only JUST come to terms with how difficult it is to be a parent to three little ones while trying to keep motivated at work and with my personal event planning business.

The constant crying, neediness, fighting, and all the things kids do where you raise an eyebrow and think “WTF?!” is enough to make a person go crazy.  I don’t know how other parents can keep their cool when I feel like I am about to explode.  I’ve given up on being the perfect parent because I know there is no such thing.

I don’t have advice on how to keep your cool or how to make the kids magically listen.  I just wanted to write this out because I know that there has to be at least one other person out there who feels the same as I do every once in a while.  Just keep chugging along ya’ll.  We’re moms…working moms…who will always find a way.  Does anyone out there want to provide some tips on how you handle the days where you’re just “done”?

One response to “Hard Days

Talk to Mamas At Work

