Summer Learning – Does It Dissolve?

One of my goals this summer is to keep my kids interested and engaged in school related topics.  While I think creative play and having an awesome time at camp is important, I want to make sure they are going to be ready for the school year come August 27th.  So, I decided to take my handy little Teacher Planner that I got for free LAST summer from Lakeshore Learning and started making plans for the next 3 months.  I have three areas for A & I – Reading, Math, and Science. Each weekday we’ll do an activity in Reading that is age appropriate.  For example, A will learn sight words (5 per week) and we’ll look them up in magazines, stories, learn to spell them and say them.  Little Man I will learn the letters of the alphabet and will do tracing activities, dot markers, highlighting letters in a search and find worksheet, etc.  Then every other day we’ll switch between math and science.  I think both are equally important but having all three subjects EVERY DAY will become very overwhelming and boring.  Luckily, I have the luxury of changing the “program” as often I want.

First I started looking on Pinterest to get some ideas for activities for kindergarten and preschoolers.  Tonight, for Science, I had the kids look at things that would dissolve.  This was great because it didn’t cost much because I had most of the supplies.  Here’s what you need:

  • 6 things that will dissolve or not dissolve.  I used sugar, flour, pepper, uncooked egg noodle, bread, and a cracker.
  • A sheet to guess (aka hypothesize) whether or not the item will dissolve and then to record the actual result.
  • A cup of water
  • A stick (we used a chopstick..haha..Asian families)
  • An excited and curious child

IMG_9254   IMG_9253 IMG_9252 I got the little sample cups from Smart and Final for super cheap ($2 for 50, I think).  Then I made my own record sheets for the kids.  Before we started, I told them what the definition of “dissolve” was and asked them to tell me if they though the item was going to “disappear” in the water.  Then I had them circle “yes” or “no”. Once they did that, I had the kids pour water into each of the cups (about 1/2 way) and then had them stir it with their (chop)stick.  They were amazed at how some things dissolved and others didn’t.  I think they understood the concept of the word.  We recorded our hypothesis and then the actual result. IMG_9257 IMG_9255 IMG_9259 They had some giggles, some brain neuron connections made, and enjoyed pouring all of the remaining stuff into one single cup to make a “yucky” mixture. IMG_9258

Talk to Mamas At Work

