Mama’s Little Helper – The Idea Box

Even with Pinterest, I still run out of ideas or the pictures of awesome ideas are just that…PICTURES…with no. links. Frustrating.  But I digress.

With three small offspring, it’s hard to be creative sometimes.  That’s right – mama block a.k.a. creative block.  <—Did I just coin a new phrase?!  Anyway, when I learned about The Idea Box, I thought to myself – THIS IS FREAKING GENIUS!  (Why didn’t I think of this idea?!)  The other day I received this eco-friendly box in the mail.

IMG_5417

Then I carefully slid the label off of the box and this is what I saw.

IMG_5428

It was like Christmas!  I love how it says “fun” with a sneak peek.

IMG_5429

I loved this instructions card.  It’s clear, simple, and gets you excited about giving your child non-montary rewards for great behavior!

IMG_5424

Each regular size box comes with 60 ideas!  60 unique ideas.  If I sat down to do something this creative, I’d probably come up with 10.

IMG_5427

Here are a few examples of some awesome ideas!  While these may seem “obvious”, they really aren’t.  I never thought that I could use the idea of going for a bike/scooter ride as an incentive but honestly, it totally works!

What I love most about these awesomeness in a box is that it brings the family together.  These are activities that you do TOGETHER as a FAMILY.  You can be goofy, silly, and just be reminded what it’s like to be a kid.  So often we get busy with work and try to “just get through the day” that some things unintentionally get pushed to the side.  These little boxes are our reminders to just take a few minutes and have a little fun.

Now that you’ve made it this far into the post, you get to enter an awesome raffle to win one of these regular size boxes!!  Just in time for the holidays!

Click here to enter the give away!

 

icm_fullxfull.32657531_q5dgc016joggsc8g0kskAbout the Creator, Jennifer: I am a Mom to three boys ages 17, 13 and 11. I started The Idea Box Kids in 2011 along with owning an online bookstore for 8 years, that closed in August 2013. I also did in-home childcare for 15 years, as well as being an assistant in a preschool for 5 years.

About the boxes: I created the first Idea Box in 2000. I just had my 2nd child and was looking for a way to help my oldest son, age 3 1/2, with his decision making skills, encourage independence, and help build his self-esteem…among other things. One way I knew to do that was through play- offering child-led, play-based activities. Choosing a coin from a box seemed like a fun way to make it as child-led as possible from start to finish. Every time he chose an activity from that box…it was like he was given a gift. It was so exciting! I held onto that idea and in 2011 as my book business was starting to decline (due to ebooks) I decided to make a few boxes and see if parents loved them as much as I did. And, they did! I love knowing that the children that get these Idea Boxes are going to love them.

Note: These boxes are not for children under 3 years old.

Talk to Mamas At Work

