Lactation Rooms – Your Right

One of the things that really irritate me is when I hear about a mama who works for a company that has more than 50 employees and she’s pumping in the car…or worse, in the bathroom at work.  When a friend of mine told me about other mamas at work trying to get a room to pump and they weren’t successful (their employer put a bench in the bathroom), I knew I had to do something…or at least try to do something to help.

I wrote a letter – a generic one so that any mama could use it and give it to her employer (based in California; although, you could adjust it to fit your state and local government’s laws and codes).  I wasn’t sure if it would work but today I received a message from my friend.  It really made my day!  Her message read:

“Well, due diligence and a good friend has helped us secure two rooms for our group of nursing moms!!!  Thank you Cindy!  Both rooms lock and are dedicated rooms for lactation.”

I have to admit that I was a little proud of myself and gave myself a pat on the back.  So now, I want to share the letters with you because I know there are some mamas out there who are still struggling to find the words and the courage to approach their employers about this topic.  Honestly, it is your right to have a space that is private.  It doesn’t have to be large but employers must comply; otherwise, there will be penalties for not following the laws.

I’ve written two different letters.  One is for a child care facility and the other is for your employer.  Choose the one or both that works best for you.  You can make adjustments to the information and appendices to fit your situation.  These letters were written for a government entity.  If you have any questions or need help adjusting the letters to fit your needs, let me know!  I’d be happy to help in any way that I can.

IMG_5438

4 responses to “Lactation Rooms – Your Right

  1. Pingback: Lactation Rooms – Your Right | Knocked Up - Knocked Over·

  2. Pingback: Lactation Rooms – Your Right – Two Little Grasshoppers·

Talk to Mamas At Work

