Labor Day and School

This week was a big week for us (I know, this post is obviously a little late).  The kids started school on Tuesday and #3 turned 3 months the same day!  It was an exciting day for the kids to “go back”.  Honestly, they were there during the summer so going back was not anything special.  Nonetheless, I captured the moment – the 10 minutes they were “happy” to return to school.  I mean, seriously, how often do you get to hold a sign that says “First Day of School”?

Wednesday was the day after the first day of school and it had already begun…”I don’t want to go to school!”  To encourage them to get dressed and get excited about school, I bribed them…with their little brother.  “If you get dressed, brush your teeth and your hair, you’ll get to hold your brother for 5 minutes each!”  I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to use this bride for but hopefully it’ll be long enough for me to think of another way to get them excited other than saying they have new things to learn and fun projects.

1208531_10151820120827272_1894784560_n

3 months ago on the 3rd, #3 was born.  Nothing too terribly special about the labor and delivery process – everything was normal.  There are a few things that stand out the most in my mind.

  1. The epidural felt different.  With #1 I could move my legs but they would fall over.  I couldn’t feel the delivery so the doctor had to tell me when to push.  #2, I could feel my legs but I still couldn’t feel the contractions and the doctor had to tell me when to push.  But with #3…I felt like I was farting. All. The. Time.  Those farting sensations were the contractions.  And apparently, the anesthesiologist did my epidural CORRECTLY.  I was SUPPOSE to feel the contractions but the pain wasn’t there.  I was suppose to feel the baby coming out without the discomfort and pain.  It was truly an amazing experience and one that I had never had before.
  2. I didn’t care that there was a stranger in my room taking pictures of the birth.  I hired her but I had never met her.  I didn’t care that she would see my lady garden but I was embarrassed at the thought of having my best friend in the room.  Strange how that works.  But having the photographer there was a wonderful way to capture an amazing moment.
  3. Finally, the memory that I will, hopefully, always remember.  Here’s a little bit of background: at the hospital where I delivered, the nurse holds one leg, my husband holds the other and the doctor is ready to catch.  I was having a little bit of trouble pushing #3 out – now I know it’s because he was a BIG baby compared to the other two (he was 8 pounds 5 ounces compared to 7.5 pounders).  While we waited for a contraction, I could feel the baby’s head partially out (and it was confirmed by the doctor).  My husband looks at me and innocently says “Are you comfortable?”  My response: “No I’m not comfortable!  I have a baby coming out of my vagina!”  Everyone had a good laugh and he’s proud to say that he was able to make his wife crack up while giving birth.

972713_10151819895942272_1656334456_n

Talk to Mamas At Work

