I’m not a SAHM!

Although I secretly wish that I were a SAHM (stay-at-home-mom), I’m not.  I’m proud of the fact that I work and it sometimes drives me a bit bonkers when people ASSUME I stay home with our three kids.  Why must I be a SAHM in order to raise my children properly?  Or why is being a SAHM the ONLY option when you have a child?  It’s not.  Everyone needs to understand that some moms want to have both corporate life and family life.  Sometimes moms have no choice but to work.  I choose to work for several reasons.

I don’t think I’d be able to stay sane if I were at home with the kids 24/7.  As much as I adore these amazing children of mine, the whining, crying, fussing, and freak-out moments about a tag on a shirt or wanting a cookie or needing someone to play with all the time (instead of playing with their sibling), would drive me up the wall.  I need the adult time and intellectual conversations as well as the desire to really feel like I’m using my degree that cost tens of thousands of dollars!  I don’t know how SAHM do it, to be honest.  Maybe they’re just more patient and understanding than I am.

I also feel like I’m doing what’s best for my children.  My two oldest children are in private school and are learning their letters, getting in their social time, playing, acting like children, making friends, interacting with other adults, and so much more!  I don’t think I’d be able to properly meet their needs and have them be at the level they are currently at with their education.  I am amazed at how much they have learned in the short time they’ve been at montessori.  Since it’s a private school, it’s a bit pricey (although less expensive than commercial daycare) so I have to work so that we have enough income to cover the cost.

I work so that we can have a comfortable lifestyle.  Sure we could live on my husband’s income but I don’t want to have to worry about money or whether or not we’d be able to afford our next family vacation.  Fortunately, we have the luxury of being able to put our children in a private school, buy them the clothes and things they need, buy them things they want (within reason, of course) and enjoy a nice meal out as a family every once in a while.  Most importantly, the likelihood of BOTH of us being laid off in our current positions with our current companies is unlikely.  So if one of us is laid off, we still have income from the other person.

This is what works for my family at this moment and what I feel is the best for my children.  I’m lucky to work for a company that gives me some flexibility and during the summer months, I take time off of work so that we can have family days together.  It’s as close to perfect as I think we can get right now.

Talk to Mamas At Work

