Cajun Chicken Tortellini

I purchased a really fantastic recipe book from my children’s school’s book fair last month and I’m FINALLY putting some of the recipes to the test.  Here’s one that I cooked the other night and it was pretty good!  The best part, it only took 30 minutes.

Below the recipe are some of my recommendations to change it.

Ingredients
1 – 20 ounce package refrigerated three-cheese tortellini
1 – small red onion, cut into thin wedges
1 – medium yellow sweet pepper, cut into bite-size strips
1 – tablespoon olive oil
1 – 6 ounce packages refrigerated cooked chicken breast strips
1 – 10 ounce container refrigerated Alfredo pasta sauce
1 – teaspoon Cajun seasoning
Preparation
1. Prepare tortellini according to package directions, drain and return to pan
2. Meanwhile, in a large skillet cook onion and sweet pepper in hot oil over medium heat for 5 to 7 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in chicken, pasta sauce, and Cajun seasoning. Heat through. Add to tortellini; toss to coat.
My recommendations
  • Add other colorful vegetables such as red bell peppers and basil.
  • I used fresh chicken breast cut into strips.  I seasoned it with minced garlic, salt, and pepper then cooked them in a pan.
  • It was a little spicy using 1 tsp of Cajun Seasoning so you may want to use more or less depending on your preference.  1 tsp was a good start though!

Let me know how this turned out for you!

One response to “Cajun Chicken Tortellini

  1. Thanks for posting this–I am out of town and couldn’t access my cookbook to find this recipe. I do think you could provide a link or reference for the book though! Just for copyright purposes. 🙂

Talk to Mamas At Work

