Classic Chicken Potpie

I’m a big fan of meals that I can make a double batch and freeze half for dinner weeks later. What I usually do is prepare meals like this during breakfast-time on a Sunday, so I still get to spend time with everyone plus get dinner accomplished for the coming week. The ingredients are incredibly simple, but tastes fantastic – I guess simple always is better!  The ingredients below are for a single serving (approx. 2-quart baking dish), so if you’d like, you can double it and freeze half of the filling to use later. I got this recipe out of Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food, but changed it a little bit.

Thankfully my career isn't in food photography...I'd be broke!

Thankfully my career isn’t in food photography…I’d be broke!

Daddy Rating: 5 (he must have been hungry!)

For the crust:

–          Pillsbury Pre-made crust…no, no we’re not making crust from scratch.

For the filling:

–          5 tablespoons unsalted butter

–          1 medium yellow onion, diced small

–          4 medium carrots, diced small (about 2 cups)

–          2 cloves minced garlic

–          ½ cup all-purpose flour

–          4 cups low sodium chicken broth

–          1 cup frozen peas

–          Salt/pepper

–          ¼ teaspoon poultry seasoning

–          3 cups shredded cooked chicken (I use a roasted chicken)

In a large pot, melt butter of med-high heat. Add onion, carrots and poultry seasoning and cook until softened (approx. 8 min). Add garlic and cook until fragrant (30 seconds). Add flour and stir to coat vegetables. Slowly add broth whisking constantly until sauce is smooth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until thickened (5-7 minutes). Stir in peas. Season with salt/pepper, then stir in chicken.

Unroll pre-made crust and lay in a 2-quart baking dish so it goes up and over the sides. Prick the bottom with a fork. Pour in filling and then just fold the sides of the crust over the top of the filling. It won’t cover completely, but will give a nice rustic look.

I covered this with Saran wrap and then when I got home from work popped it in a 375* oven for 45 min.

Talk to Mamas At Work

