Slow Cooker Smokey Beef & Bean Chili

Chili
I have to be honest. I had a lot of meal failures this month – I had some that I was very excited about, but they turned into bland meals that required too much prep and too many pans to clean so it will NOT be passed on to my fellow working mamas! SO, I’m reaching into my archives and pulling out an old favorite crock pot chili recipe. ‘Tis the season for cozy, hearty food, right? This is a favorite in my house with everything I love; affordable, little prep, lots of flavor, easy cleanup…Oh, and beer is an ingredient.

Ingredients:
2 – 15.5 oz cans kidney beans, rinsed
1 – 28 oz can diced tomatoes (Fire Roasted are the best)
12oz lager beer
1lb stew meat, trimmed down a bit, you want about 3/4″ pieces
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons chili powder
Salt
1-3 teaspoons chopped chipotles in adobo sauce (this makes the whole recipe)
Cornbread, sour cream, grated Cheddar, chopped red onion, whatever your heart desires for toppings

In a 4-6 quart slow cooker, mix together beans, tomatoes (with their juices), beer, beef, yellow onion, garlic, tomato paste, chili powder, chipotles, and a touch of salt….how easy is that!

Cover and cook until the beef is tender, on low for 7-8 hours or on high for 4-5 hours. I always opt for the low setting, the meat just gets more tender that way. I just made some simple cornbread from a mix and topped it with cheese. Husband was happy and full on a chilly winter day and I had some great leftovers for lunch during the week.

Talk to Mamas At Work

