New Year’s Resolution

How many of you create a new list of resolutions each year?  Do you complete them?  There were a couple of years when I created my list and every year, the list got shorter because I couldn’t accomplish them.  Most of the items on the list were pretty…empty.  What was I really accomplishing when I could cross it off my list?  Just something else off my to do list, I suppose.  How do you choose what will be on your list?

This year (a couple of days late) I’ve chosen to take care of myself.  This sounds completely selfish but I think it’ll have a great impact on my ability to be a better wife and a better mother.  2012 was a year when I focused on my family and stressed myself out so much that I became someone who I didn’t even want to be around.  I was fine around friends but around my kids and husband, I was evil mama/wife a lot more than I care to recall.  I rarely went out with friends, my husband and I hadn’t been on a date since my daughter was 4 months old, and I was completely unsatisfied with my job situation.  I kept daydreaming about “the other side” – the “greener” side.

I started 2013 a little early to take advantage of the fact that we were spending the holidays with my parents.  My husband and I had our first date .  I was completely stressed out as I mentioned on Facebook.  I was so nervous that I think I made my parents nervous – it was the first time I was leaving the kids in their hands for longer than an hour.  I made my husband choose the SHORTEST movie in the theater so we ended up going to see Rise of the Guardians.  We were home within 2.5 hours and it was because my 20 month old son had woken up and was crying his head off and wouldn’t stop.  My parents had no idea what to do with him to calm him down.  So, I’ll make an adjustment to the time of day in which we go out but my husband and I will definitely go out more frequently this year.

Next I decided to take a few days off of work so I could “celebrate” my birthday.  It’s only one day of celebration but I’ll be at the spa all day pampering myself.  Who could ask for anything more?!  🙂

What are some of your resolutions this year?  Maybe you could help give me some ideas.  🙂

Shopping on New Year's Day at Target is also a great way to start 2013.  :)

Shopping on New Year’s Day at Target is also a great way to start 2013. 🙂

Talk to Mamas At Work

