To Boudoir or Not to Boudoir

We recently had a question posted on our About the Mamas page from a reader and she asked “I recently contemplated having a personal boudoir photo set taken of me. Being a mom of age 34 I’m not sure if it would be appropriate for someone like me to do that. What are your thoughts?”

As a wedding planner, I follow a lot of photographers because I love how they capture memories.  I look at images from various photography sessions such as the one from Boudoir on Film and think to myself, “These are amazing and these women are so courageous for showing their vulnerability”.  Boudoir is no longer about naked poses and lingerie.  It’s about art.

Every woman is beautiful.  We all have to remember that.  We should celebrate every curve or imperfection of our bodies because we are beautiful.  It doesn’t matter if you’re in your 20’s and in the best shape of your life or if you’re in your 40’s and your body shows that you’ve created and carried life.  You are beautiful.

These days, the pictures that some photographers take capture this beauty in every woman.  They make amazing gifts for your spouse/partner or just for yourself!  I never thought about having one and I would be the one wearing a one piece bathing suit because I was embarrassed about my mid-section love.  But I was curious so I had my first boudoir session after having 2 kids and I was in my early 30’s.  It was empowering.  I felt great about myself.  I’m proud of the pictures that I chose to have in my album.  My husband loved it and most importantly, I’m proud of them.  I would totally do it again.

Let’s say you’ve decided to do a boudoir session.  Here are some tips you’ll want to keep in mind when choosing a photographer.

  1. You’ll want to find a photographer that you feel 110% comfortable with as you’ll be wearing less than normal.  It’s a pretty imtimate session.
  2. Choose outfits that YOU feel comfortable in – don’t choose something that’ll make you feel self conscious because it’ll show in your pictures.
  3. Ensure that the photographer gives you the option to not post your pictures on their blog/website/etc. if you don’t want others to see your pictures.
  4. Ensure that you have the rights to print the pictures.
  5. View the photographer’s CURRENT sessions to ensure you are comfortable with their style.
  6. Do your research and make sure you find someone who is reputable!  Not someone you found on Craigslist.
  7. Don’t choose a photographer based on price – you get what you pay for!!
  8. Verify turn around time – if you’re doing the session as a birthday present, make sure you get the pictures BEFORE your needed date.

Here are some images from Danielle of Boudoir on Film.  You can also check out some adorable sessions from Caroline Tran Photography as well.  Oh and take a look at these maternity boudoir photos from Twan of Style Art Life

Basic message here: if you’re comfortable with the idea, schedule your boudoir session!

3 responses to “To Boudoir or Not to Boudoir

  1. Thank you Cindy, that is wonderful advice. Molly and your boudoir shots were simply amazing too, if only I can get up the courage to do the same.

    Thanks again!

    • Hi Danielle! I’m so glad you found the advice useful! BTW – the pictures are not from mine and Molly’s sessions. 🙂 If ONLY I looked that good. haha…but I do have to say that I enjoyed my pictures.

  2. Thanks Cindy.

    Oh, I didn’t mean the ones in your post, I meant the ones from your actual sessions. I hope to photograph as lovely as you two did 😉

Talk to Mamas At Work

